Posted by: bravo22c | 16/02/2010

Childhood Memories

Memories

I was in London for the first part of the week – and very nice it was too.  I was visiting the corporate Headquarters of the company I’m working for at the moment and was able to walk along the Embankment to get to work each morning.  Cut to the 1950’s.  At that time my Father was in the Royal Air Force, stationed at Uxbridge.  My Grandparents lived in Deal, in Kent, and to visit them we would take the tube into London, and then the train from Charing Cross.  The train used to divide at Tonbridge, and to travel on to Ashford, Dover, Deal and Folkestone you had to ride one of the front four carriages.  The platform for those front four carriages extended out on to the bridge across the river, so, from the windows you could see the traffic down on the Embankment, and, across the river on the South Bank, the Oxo Tower with the clock and OXO spelled out in red neon lights.  So, to me, the Oxo Tower meant I would soon see my Grandparents.

Cut back to the 21st Century.  I am now 60 years old, but every time I walk along the Embankment and see the Oxo Tower over on the South Bank, my heart is just a little lighter and I can’t help breaking into a smile.

Responses

  1. Thanks CB. It might not have been the case for adults, but life was certainly fun for a child when I was a small boy 🙂

  2. i really get a kick out of reading your recollections. It leaves me with the feeling that i missed all the interesting stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

