Posted by: bravo22c | 13/02/2010

Bad Memory.

By somewhat of a stream of conciousness route I was led through dumbed down school leaving certificates via an earliest memory to a bad memory from primary school days.

One of the boys in the pre-eleven plus year at the school I was attending at the time was fat. Not just fat, but FAT. The lad was also a couple of inches taller than the rest of us and we used to tease – bully – this poor boy unmercifully. The particular memory confronting me now is of one break time when this poor lad was surrounded by a group of boys and girls chanting insults as cruelly as only children can – one of those children being me. I can still recall the look on that boy’s face, and how I was not able to stay in the group tormenting him, empathy making me feel quite ill, so that I left while the torment was still going on.

I don’t know what became of that boy as we moved house soon after the incident. Just one of the darker moments of a long life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

